NaNoWriMo 2012

It’s that time again. November. And NaNoWriMo time! What’s NaNoWriMo? It’s National Novel Writing Month. And this will be my 5th year doing it. The idea behind NaNo is to write 50,000 words of a novel in just 30 days. This requires commitment, concentration, and turning OFF the internal editor in our heads for 30 days.

 

The first three years that I did this, I was successful in hitting 50,000 words or more. Last year, I did not finish due to several reasons, the main one being overtime at work. This year I hope to be successful again, although I had a rough start. NaNo started at midnight today. I didn’t even have an idea of WHAT to write until about two hours ago when I finally had some idea jotted down and started writing.

 

My first day’s total, so far, is 1,793. A little over 100 words more than the daily recommended amount.

 

I may write more tonight, to get a bit of a buffer in place in case I have a bad writing day.

 

 

First line of “The Shadows – Land of Death”:

“Curse you to The Shadows!” Kyriah yelled across the lane toward her neighbor’s yard.

 

 

