CQJP2014- February Block #2

Block #2 for February! I had a lot of fun with this block, trying out a couple new (for me) crazy block treatments.

The bare block:

20140214-102832.jpg

This one, while I loved the colors and fabrics used, gave me a lot of trouble when it came to figuring out what exactly I wanted to do to it.

Finished:

20140214-102957.jpg

I am happy with the end result though!

Close ups of the details: I just realized I don’t have close up detail pictures on my phone of this block…how did that happen! Hang on while I go get the block.

(Are you still with me?)

20140214-103644.jpg
This twisty tree is probably my favorite element on this block. The design is from Doodle Stitching the Motif Collection by Aimee Ray. I love this book by the way. You will definitely see more embroidered items from her book on my blocks. I don’t trace them though, I look at the picture and then free-hand draw it on the fabric, so there will be some differences between what you see in the book and on my blocks. I added some sequins for leaves and to give a little sparkle to the block. A stump sits quietly next to the twisty tree.

20140214-104123.jpg

The vines and purple flowers in the top right corner are also from Doodle Stitching (motif). As I said, I really love this book. You may notice along this journey of CQJP, I am partial to vines and twisty lines in my embroidery.

20140214-104343.jpg
In the bottom left corner, since I had such a little section to work with, I added a little fan. Next to that, using some gorgeous hand-dyed cotton, I added some curly lines with French knots. Silver rickrack ribbon runs along the seam.

20140214-104652.jpg
In the top left corner I added a flowering vine (design also from doodle stitching). I’m getting the hang of lazy daisies finally. I’ve gotten past the habit of wanting to pull the thread too tight. I couched a piece of gold rope ribbon along this seam. I picked up quite a few ribbons several years ago at a store closing and just recently remembered I had them.

20140214-105150.jpg
This particular section gave me the most trouble. It took a couple days before I finally decided on what to do. It was actually another piece of fabric in the Wife Cave that made me think of paisleys. Which I tried to make here. I wanted them to be fun yet somewhat delicate which is why I used bright colors but only used 1 strand of DMC floss to do it. The paisleys shown here are my own design. In the center of the orange paisley is a flower made entirely of french knots.

20140214-105609.jpg
The theme of this block is Explore. I used a hand-dyed rayon to stem stitch the word in the center. I think with some of the treatments I used (first time couching rope, adding rick rack), plus my attempt at paisleys, means I did in fact Explore a bit on this block.

2 thoughts on “CQJP2014- February Block #2

Comments are closed.