Yarn Frogging

When I first joined the online crochet community, Crochetville, I discovered a new language. Now, crocheting is already its own unique language. Give someone who doesn’t know how to crochet a piece of paper filled with stuff like: ch5, 3dc in 4th sc, sk next 2 sc, hdc each st across… and they’ll give you that puzzled look. Eyebrows lowered, bottom lip trapped between teeth, forehead wrinkled. You know that look, the one that says, “what in the hell kind of language is this?”

I look at that piece of paper, grab a ball of yarn and a hook, and start following the directions. The language of crochet forming a picture in my mind as my hands create that same picture with the yarn. Sometimes something confusing still comes along in that language and requires more concentration, but the letters and numbers finally fall into place and it’s back to crocheting along.

But then I joined Crochetville. And I started seeing a whole new language. RAOK, UFO, WIM, LYS, FO. And my reaction was, WTH? (what the heck). It took a few days to learn what each of those meant.

RAOK: Random Acts of Kindness

UFO: Unfinished Object

WIM: Work in Mind

LYS: Local Yarn Store

FO: Finished Object

The one term that really confused me though, was frogging. Now, a little background on me first. I’m a country girl. Born and raised in the country, a couple miles outside a small small town that doesn’t even show on a lot of maps. I grew up running around the woods with my neighbors and cousins, climbing trees, playing our own imaginative games, and basically being what my mom calls “free range children”. Meaning, we weren’t leashed to our parents and the yard. We had the freedom to run and play and be kids. We took off shortly after breakfast and sometimes we were out playing until dark.

So what’s that have to do with frogging? Well, when you are a country girl, frogging means going down to the pond and catching frogs! Real live, slimy, croaking frogs.

Frogging, to this country girl, doesn’t have anything to do with crocheting! Until now that is. In crochet, frogging means to pull your work apart so you can use the yarn again, either to redo the same project or to use in another project. You rip apart the work you already did. Get it? Rip it, rip it, rip it. You’re frogging your work!

One of my current WIPS is a flannelghan for a birthday gift for a family member. Since I’m also trying to reduce the amount of yarn stash that I have (hah!), I didn’t want to run out and buy more yarn just yet, but I was getting close to running out of the Caron Gray Heather and not being able to work further on the blanket. Then, I started going through that 33 gallon bag of yarn I mentioned in the last post. Lo and behold… Caron Gray Heather yarn in two unfinished projects!

So of course, since the one was a boring pattern that I couldn’t stay focused on, and the other one I seem to have lost the pattern for and didn’t feel like frogging only a couple inches to figure it out, I frogged all of it!

Three almost full skeins worth of yarn to use! (color looks different because of flash used on 2nd pic).

 

What have you frogged lately?

4 thoughts on “Yarn Frogging

  1. I was just talking to Gma & Gpa today and we were discussing “free range children”! Hmm, weird – again.

  2. Oh boy – what haven’t I frogged! Recently I’ve been making a lot of hats which also translates into a lot of hats have been frogged!

    • I haven’t tried to make any hats yet, but I’ve been thinking about it. I know I will probably end up frogging a lot as I learn how to make them. Then frogging more after that!

  3. Way funny. I too grew up in the country, and froggin IS what you did to catch frogs. It took me a while to catch on to all the crochet lingo, but I got it now!! How lucky for you to find 3 skeins of yarn you needed in a WIP!!
    I saw the progress on your FG over on the ‘ville….great job! And, great colors – love the way you’ve worked them into a pattern!!

Comments are closed.