Lumberjack Flannelghan Variations

Lately I’ve been sticking pretty faithfully to one project instead of bouncing around building up several at a time. I do love “multi-tasking” crochet projects though. Seeing each one slowly coming into shape, the patterns showing through as the projects grow, then the pile of finished projects stacked up at the end. I’ll admit to a touch of Adult ADHD. I normally cannot stay focused on one and only one project from start to finish. I need to jump around to different projects to keep my interest going.

But as I said, I’ve been pretty faithful with sticking with just one pattern/project and trying to get it finished. The pattern I am using is called Lumberjack Flannelghan by RoseRed. The pattern can be found by following the link. The woman behind the pattern is the author/creator/designer of many patterns: the ones I’ve looked at or tried have all been easy to follow and understand. She offers some patterns for free and charges for others.

If you’ve followed the link and checked out the pattern, you’ll notice that I’ve made a few changes. Instead of making mine look like flannel and using only 2 colors, I have used 3 colors and created a design with the way the squares line up. I also started with chaining 27, using HDC instead of DC for all the stitches, and using a K hook with Caron Simply Soft yarns. The colors I am using  are Autumn Red, Heather Gray, and Black.

Of course, my mind decided to go further with the pattern and come up with other variations. Using Windows Paint program and some iffy Paint skills (my imagination only goes so far with the limited color selections on Paint).

The above is called Oceans. It is 9 squares by 9 squares. If you stay with the 10″ squares, you’ll end up with a blanket that is roughly 7.5 ft x 7.5 ft before the border. To make a smaller blanket such as a lapghan, I would recommend cutting down to 5″ or 6″ squares to make a blanket that is around 3-4ft square. Follow the same basic instructions as RoseRed’s pattern with using 2 strands of yarn to make a square, then dropping 1 strand and picking up another strand of a different color to make the “varigated” squares. Once I have a chance to start working on one of my other variations, I’ll try to include a post showing my variations to get the sizes needed for the squares and what yarn and hook I use.

Here are a few other variations:

This one I just call Big Flower (imaginative, I know. 🙂 )

It would be fairly easy to also put initials into a flannelghan:

Where has your imagination taken you lately after learning a new pattern?

 

6 thoughts on “Lumberjack Flannelghan Variations

  1. Shell- What great ideas for a wonderful pattern that I love! Thanks to RoseRed for creating the flannelghan- I’ve made 3. And now with these suggestions- I just might have to try one- I like the idea of putting an initial in it! Wonderful creativity!!! Thanks for sharing your ideas.

  2. Hey Shell, you know the one with the big flower…well, I know somebody that really likes that one…guess who. LOL

  3. Pingback: Color Block Designs – Flannelghan Style – A Collaborative Effort « Little Orphan Skein

Comments are closed.