Tissue-Dyed Silk

Last Spring/Summer I joined my Mom’s craft club, Eye For Fiber, which my Mom affectionately calls Fiber Cult. While the focus of the group is mainly fibers and what can be done with them, they love to think outside the box and just have fun with different ideas, techniques, and other crafts. We meet on the third Wednesday of every month to show off what we’ve been making, share new techniques, chat, and whatever else we think of.

We started a project called a Prompt Quilt, which is a quilted wallhanging that we would add a piece to each month based on a prompt that was pulled from a container. The prompts would be something like: add something large, add circles connected by a line, etc. Mine did not get finished, sadly, as I missed a few meetings and did not get all of the prompts. I’ll have to make up a container of prompts and pull a few more to get mine finished. I’ll do a more in-depth post on the Prompt Quilt later when I finish it.

Something else we had fun with is using bleeding tissue to dye silk scarves and handkerchiefs. The process is fairly simple but you do need to set aside a decent amount of time to finish the project (it involves placing the tissue, wetting everything down, letting it dry, ironing, washing, more ironing, etc). In the pictures above, I have a handkerchief that I used various blues and pinks on to create what you see. The colors are even more vibrant in person. I’m not sure what I am going to do with it, but I love the colors! The scarf was done using almost all the different blues, with just a couple of small pieces of other colors tossed randomly on the scarf.

We found that certain colors bled more than others and would actually run down the silk a little to mix with other colors. And if you are looking to make a certain pattern, i.e. perfect stripes, you may want to find another method of dyeing. But if you love the randomness, and love being surprised by the results, tissue-dyeing silk is a lot of fun.

I’ll see if I can find the instructions on how to tissue-dye silk scarves and link to them, as I do not want to infringe on any copyrights that someone may have.

Our current project for the group is Traveling Journals. I’m not quite sure I 100% understand what we are doing, but I’m sure we’ll figure that out at our next meeting next week. It does look very interesting though! I’ll let you know what the Traveling Journals are once I find out!

4 thoughts on “Tissue-Dyed Silk

  1. We had fun that day – even with Penny trying to help. Good thing J is a good sport considering how the basement looked for a while!

  2. I just finished dying a few more silk scarves, but I did the snow dying. They look awsome if I do say so myself. The heavy wet snow seems to make the mottling much more pronounced.

Comments are closed.