Color Me Happy Squares

These squares are for a crochet game/challenge on Crochetville, the Color Me Happy CAL mentioned in a previous post. We are given 3 colors per month and have to use all 3 colors in a crocheted square of our choice. At the end of a year, we take our squares and combine them into a lap blanket.

Colors:
January – Green, Silver, Purple
February – Orange, Yellow, Pink
March – Red, Brown, Turquoise
April –
May –
June –
July –
August –
September –
October –
November –
December –

The pattern I chose is #2 from the book 99 Granny Squares To Crochet. The squares take about an hour and a half to two hours to finish, partly because I’m still having to refer back to the pattern for each row. I’m using Caron Simply Soft and an I/9 (5.5mm) hook.

January:

February:

This pattern is really easy once you figure it out. I’ll admit I was confused at first. The square is worked in rounds with right side facing the whole time, no turning the square. But at first I was reading it over a few times going “Huh???”. Once I got it though, the Huh turned to a Duh!

I can’t wait to see what March’s colors are going to be!

I’ll try to update this post with the new colors each month as well as a new post with the next month’s square after we get the colors.  Join me and the other Color Me Happy crocheters in creating beautiful 3 color squares in a pattern of your choice!

This entry was posted on February 28, 2011, in Crochet. Bookmark the permalink.