Seductive Yarn – Can You Resist?

The yarn I need to work on a couple of current blanket projects is on sale at JoAnn Fabrics this week, and for a very good price. 2 skeins of Caron Simply Soft for $5. Considering they are anywhere from $2.98 – 5.99 each regular price depending on what store you go to, $2.50 each is pretty good.

I picked up 4 skeins on Sunday in two of the colors I need. But I still am short on a few other colors.  So, I went to JoAnn’s after work today. I picked up 2 more skeins of Simply Soft today that I needed.

Did you know they started teaching the skeins seduction? Isn’t it bad enough that the skeins know how to cry those big crocodile tears? Isn’t it bad enough that the skeins can chase you through the store, tangle in your feet, and force you to put them in the cart? Now they teach them how to bite (happened on Sunday…honest…) and seduce??

I was seduced today, by three skeins of yarn. More tried, but I was able to resist all but these three beautiful, soft, sensual skeins. First, they called out to me softly “Look at me”. So, my willpower low, I looked. Oh how the lights reflected on their silky strands. “Touch me” they whispered next. Shaking, trying to resist, my hand slowly reached out and touched. Then touched again. My fingers caressed. I don’t know how it happened, but a skein ended up in my hands being carefully turned around, squeezed gently.

Then a second skein appeared in my hands. Magic? It had to be! How else could it have happened? My whole body was shaking as I tried to place the seductive skeins back on the shelf. Instead, my hands veered to my cart where I found a third skein winking up at me! Daring me to even attempt to remove it from the cart. I quickly set the two skeins down in the cart and ran out of the aisle. I glanced back to see silky strands waving at me from the shelves, I could hear the soft voices calling “Come back, you know you love us, come back.”

Those three skeins are sitting next to me now.

They are still being seductive.

I think one just moved closer…

Could you resist?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Seductive Yarn – Can You Resist?

  1. I love it! Too funny. I definitely know how you feel. I go in for 2 skiens for something and come out with $100 worth of yarn!

  2. I too have been suduced by yarn and I believe its now beginning to cause blackouts. I recently came home with a beautiful skein of (expensive for me) Zimo and no knowledge of how that came to be. Must have been purchased during a blackout – that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. This yarn is also becoming very clingy because it’s been travelling to work with me everyday and sometimes I hear a tiny whimper or whisper from my tote bag and just have to go take a little peek and give it a little pet to make sure it’s ok.

Comments are closed.