Knitting and Crochet Blog Week – Day 2

Day Two: 29th March. Skill + 1UP

Look back over your last year of projects and compare where you are in terms of skill and knowledge of your craft to this time last year. Have you learned any new skills or forms of knitting/crochet (can you crochet cable stitches now where you didn’t even know such things existed last year? Have you recently put a foot in the tiled world of entrelac? Had you even picked up a pair of needles or crochet hook this time last year?

Thinking back over the last year, I learned quite a few things even though I’m definitely not a beginner crocheter. I’ve crocheted on and off through most of my life, but it wasn’t really until we moved into our new home that I really started getting back into crocheting and learning more than the basics. Most nights I can be found on the couch in the living room, baskets of yarn by my side and a hook in my hand.

In the last year: I worked with thread to make my first doily and found that I can do patterns that are classed as intermediate or expert (although I feel like a beginner doing them!). I still need to block my doily but I will be posting pictures of before and after blocking once I get around to finally doing that.

I learned simple tunisian crochet and while I haven’t done a whole lot with that style of crocheting yet, I did experiment with using 2 and 3 colors. I admit I really like tunisian, I just haven’t taken the time to actually put together a project with it. I’m picturing a simple tunisian strip ghan with 2 or 3 colors per strip, either different shades of one color, or something bright and cheerful and a definite contrast. But that’ll be down the road (too many hooks in the fire already as it is!).

Thanks to Crochetville, I’ve started doing 2-strand projects, such as the Lumberjack Flannelghan pattern and the Color Blocks Flannelghan-Style patterns. I collaborated with RoseRed on the pattern for the Color Blocks Flannel-ghan afghans. She asked questions, I answered, she wrote the pattern, and I drew up the color graphs. That was a lot of fun and got me thinking about trying to come up with my own pattern for something.

I tried my hand at knitting, and while I was able to make a small rectangle, knitting is not my thing. Too easy to lose a stitch and not very easy to fix it. At least not in my limited experience. But don’t fear (well….maybe you SHOULD fear…) I will try knitting again!

I hope to continue to learn more as I move on with my crocheting adventures. Will you join me in learning?

