Knitting and Crochet Blog Week – Day 3

Day Three: 30th March. Tidy mind, tidy stitches.

How do you keep your yarn wrangling organized? It seems like an easy to answer question at first, but in fact organization exists on many levels. Maybe you are truly not organized at all, in which case I am personally daring you to try and photograph your stash in whatever locations you can find the individual skeins. However, if you are organized, blog about an aspect of that organization process, whether that be a particularly neat and tidy knitting bag, a decorative display of your crochet hooks, your organized stash or your project and stash pages on Ravelry.

 

Yarn and organized…in the same sentence? Is it really even possible? Well maybe for a day or two I can keep everything neat and organized, but then I start a new project, or have to hunt for more yarn for a current project, or I’m just curious which colors I have stashed for any future projects that might pop into my head. Then the yarn becomes very disorganized-looking.

Depending on who you talk to, I’m either an extremely organized person, or I’m an extremely disorganized person. At work, I’m almost obsessively organized. Everything has its place, my work station has to be “just so”, and if someone puts stuff away in the wrong place? Watch out!

At home though, my yarn can be found in various places. Down in the craft room (aka Wife Cave) hanging on a door, skeins stuffed into the mesh pockets of an over-the-door shoe holder. On shelves in a 5 ft tall cabinet. In bags on top of the cabinet. These are retired UFOs, future projects, and yarn I just couldn’t resist but didn’t have a project in mind.

Upstairs in the living room my yarn is in a storage ottoman, in a rolling yarn tote, in a fabric bag, and in a small crate. These are all for current WIPS! I also have a small WIP and a FO (finished object) on the coffee table. Also hanging out on the coffee table are my graph paper table, two pattern books, camera, and normally the case of 100+ colored pencils. The ottoman, tote, and bag are at the end of the couch, between the couch and wall/window, so it’s not filling up the whole living room with yarn. Only a couple feet total! Oh, the Hobby Lobby bag in the picture has yarn in it for the most current ghan project. They were the ONLY store (local) I could find that carried Caron Simply Soft in Pine. THANK GOD I finally found it! I didn’t want to have to pay $6 per skein counting shipping to get it online. In the picture below you can see two different WIPS on top of the ottoman and the start of my magic scrap yarn ball.

To me, it’s all organized. I know where the yarn is for the current WIP in my hands, the WIP sitting next to me waiting to be whipstitched together, the WIP sitting on the coffee table waiting for April to come around so I can get my next 3 colors for my Square-A-Month. I know where the yarn is for my doily idea for the dining room table. And I know where the yarn is for another ghan that I started but will probably end up frogging (I do not like the way I have the color block pattern picked out for it).

To another yarn addict… they would definitely (probably) understand my organization setup for what I have. For someone like my husband… it’s just a lot of yarn all over!

 

