Knitting and Crochet Blog Week – Day 6

Day six: 2nd April. Something to aspire to.

Is there a pattern or skill that you don’t yet feel ready to tackle but which you hope to (or think you can only dream of) tackling in the future, near or distant? Is there a skill or project that makes your mind boggle at the sheer time, dedication and mastery of the craft?

 

There are probably several dozen patterns I’d like to try, between blankets, doilies, sweaters, socks, and such.

The one I do not feel ready to tackle yet, but would love to have the skill to do, is an Irish Thread Crochet tablecloth. Delicate, intricate, and absolutely beautiful. Something similar to This One, but maybe not that exact one.  I’ve done some work with crochet thread, between a 12″ doily, some small coaster size doilies, and ribbons, but I have not tried anything as complex as what I’ve seen done with Irish Crochet.

Not only do you need to have the skill for that type of work, you also need to have the patience to do it. A lot of patience. More than what I have at this time. Maybe some day I’ll have the patience to sit down night after night, crocheting for hours and only achieving inches of progress each night on one huge project. But right now, I need to have projects where I see a lot of advancement each night, and small projects to add in the mix to break up the monotony.

 

(I don’t know what happened to Day 5, it disappeared into cyberspace somewhere. When I have time, I’ll try to get it back up, it’ll just be out of order.)

