Knitting and Crochet Blog Week – Day 7

Day seven: 3rd April. Your knitting and crochet time.

Write about your typical crafting time. When it is that you are likely to craft – alone or in more social environments, when watching TV or whilst taking bus journeys. What items do you like to surround yourself with whilst you twirl your hook like a majorette’s baton or work those needles like a skilled set of samurai swords. Do you always have snacks to hand, or are you a strictly ‘no crumbs near my yarn!’ kind of knitter.

My typical crafting time:

The television has to be on even if the volume is low and it’s only reruns of a movie I’ve seen dozens of times, or if it’s an old show like Dukes of Hazzard. Its even better if it’s an episode of Bones (new or rerun) or a good show on Food Network, such as Chopped. As long as there is some noise in the room with me.  The odd thing is, the noise cannot be music. Music is distracting.

A pillow, a blanket, and a soft couch just about complete my crafting time. The pillow is behind my back, my legs usually tucked up, and the blanket covering my legs. Most times I also have a cat curled up with me, nestled against my knees or attempting to climb up on my chest to curl up under my chin (this makes it very difficult to crochet).

My rings are off, a Cherry Coke is on the coffee table, and I’m settled in for the long run. Several WIPS are within reaching distance so I can change projects on a whim. Also close by are a notebook, graph paper pad, and container of colored pencils, pens, and pencils, just in case inspiration hits. The camera is nearby, as well as my cell phone (cell phone is so I can text/pic message my Mom throughout the day, and receive her text/pic messages as well. We love sharing our crafting projects!).

During the week, my crafting time is in the evenings, after I get home and get comfortable and have checked all the blogs, websites, etc. But I also crochet a couple mornings a week at work, while waiting for my shift to start (I keep a small project in my lunch bag). On the weekends if I’m not working, I may spend 8, 10, maybe even 14 hours crocheting.

