Panini + Quesadilla

(lucky you, you get two posts in one day!)

What do you get when you cross a Panini with a Quesadilla? You get a Panini-dilla!

My hubby came up with an idea one night when I was on the couch trying to recover from influenza (not a great week for me that week). He took some of the lunchmeat that we had in the fridge, combined with sliced cheese, then put it all on a tortilla, folded it over, and cooked it in the panini press. It was pretty good! Even as sick as I was, I still managed to eat half of mine.

So since then, we’ve been experimenting with different ingredients and decided to call these Panini-dillas, as they look like a quesadilla but are grilled/cooked on a panini press.  The most common ingredients that we use are the tortilla shell (flour, burrito sized), baked boneless skinless chicken, and shredded colby jack cheese. Then we take a look at what other ingredients we have around the house and toss those in too!

First, I bake the chicken in the oven until it’s fully cooked, then I take it out of the oven and let it cool just enough to handle. While it’s cooling, I micro-bake (i.e. nuke in the microwave) a couple of redskin potatoes. Take those out and start them cooling slightly while I then micro-cook a can of veggies, normally corn but we’ve recently tried this with green beans too (more on that in a bit).

While the Griddler (our panini press slash grill slash griddle machine) is heating up, I start slicing the chicken into thin slices. Then I slice the potatoes into thin slices. By then usually the veggies are cooked and sitting on the counter waiting as well.

I place a tortilla shell on a plate and start loading it up in layers on one half with the chicken, potatoes, cooked veggies, sometimes raw veggies such as onion and peppers, then sprinkle (hah, more like dump by the handful…) some shredded cheese on top. Fold the other half of the tortilla over the ingredients, carefully put the folded tortilla shell on the Griddler, then close it up so it presses together while it cooks. They cook anywhere from 3 to 5 minutes, just enough to turn golden brown and melt the cheese inside. Then put on a plate and serve!

Hubby usually has hot sauce on his as well, but I skip the hot sauce. I like to have some sensation left in my mouth after eating dinner…

So two nights ago we had his Dad over for dinner and Hubby asked if I’d make some Panini-dillas. I got things ready and realized, hey we don’t have any corn! Hm, but we DO have green beans… I wonder…

The panini-dillas are great with green beans as the cooked veggie! Mine was also slightly different because I used leftover mashed potatoes from the night before in mine instead of using sliced potatoes. Hubby and his Dad also had green chilies on theirs (from a gift I received from a swap partner on Crochetville).

Tonight, we’re trying something new again for the ingredients… I’ll let you know how it goes!

3 thoughts on “Panini + Quesadilla

Comments are closed.