Adding to the Stash

Contrary to the title of this post, I have actually been using up quite a bit of my yarn stash between StashBuster Totes and blankets. But, thanks to winning a giveaway hosted by Debi Y from Crochet, Crafts, and Gardening and The Crochet Way, I have added 8 skeins of Columbia Minerva – Nantuk Dimensions in Luscious Pink to my stash.

Look at that beautiful hot pink color! I think I’ll combine these with a strand of another yarn and do something double-stranded.

 

I also added two skeins of Ella Rae Bamboo Silk yarn in the colors Sugar and Plum to my stash. I bought these from a LYS up near the hotel we stayed at for our anniversary weekend getaway.  The LYS was more of a fabric store, but it was listed as a LYS on a search engine and since it was close to the hotel, we decided to check it out. Yes, my hubby went in with me without a fight! So I tried to make my yarn browsing go quick instead of drooling for an hour or two over the aisle of expensive yarns. The Ella Rae was not real expensive, but considering that most of my yarn buying has been stuff like Caron Simply Soft, spending $7 on a 50g hank of yarn seemed like a lot to me.

Such beautiful colors. Soft, oh so soft, and shiny. The skeins are 70% bamboo, 30% silk. How could I resist? Really I couldn’t, I think I inherited the magpie gene from my Mom. Neither one of us can walk past something shiny without having to at least gaze at it while passing by.

And I have no clue what I want to make with them, but I’m leaning toward a nice soft scarf for wintertime. Maybe a little fancy so I could wear it inside as a dressy accent to an outfit.

7 thoughts on “Adding to the Stash

  1. Hey, i just looked at the ball band and see you were at Material Mart. I’ve always wanted to go there – what was the fabric selection like. You know I NEED more fabric. Why didn’t we talk about this yesterday after dinner???? I should have looked at the ball band sooner…

    • I didn’t get to check out the store too much, we just stopped so I could quickly check out their yarn section on our way home. But I’d say 85% of the store is fabric related. Lots of fabric all over!

      We probably didn’t talk about the yarn after dinner because all of us were too stuffed from ALL the food!

    • Not sure if you’ll see this but I can no longer reach your blog Debi, it’s saying something about not being invited to read that blog.

    • It is wonderful having a hubby who’s patient with my hobby! He has his hobby (gaming on the computer) and I have my crafts. Works out great. 🙂

Comments are closed.