Crocheted Chain Links

What to do with a crocheted tube…

Have you seen all those knitted chains out there? I’ll admit, until yesterday, I don’t think I’ve seen or heard about anything like it. Then my mom sent me a picture text message of a crocheted chain link scarf she was making, the inspiration being a knitted one she saw somewhere.

Of course, once I saw her picture, I had to try it as well! Surprising to us, mine are done in brights, whereas hers are muted colors. Normally it’s the other way around with our similar projects. So far I’ve only used my Simply Soft scraps:

My plan for my crocheted chains is not to make a scarf. Instead, I plan to use the crocheted chain as decoration in my Wife Cave, to spruce and brighten the place up a bit. Along with another project that I think I alluded to in another post, which will be made of fabric.

My inspiration for some of my decorating ideas for the Wife Cave come from my Mom and some from So Resourceful‘s blog and her Astonishing Splashes of Colour posts such as This One. Then whatever my own creative brain comes up with (which sometimes is scary…)

Where does your inspiration come from? Have you tried making crocheted chain links before? How did yours turn out?

 

3 thoughts on “Crocheted Chain Links

  1. I love these colors!Of course, you know I would. It is very odd that you’re doing brights and I’m doing the muted colors. Hmm did the earth shift? can’t until you have miles and miles of chains hanging around your cave.
    I’m planning on posting my chain scarf along pictures of other things on my blog. I think I’ve finally figured out how to do it. Wish me luck…

  2. Wow, I love the colours in your crocheted chain! It looks so pretty, you will have to post pictures of your wife cave once the chain is complete and hanging in it! It will look amazing. I’m glad my post helped inspire you.

  3. I saw a free pattern at Michael’s to make a scarf similar to this from Christmas colors, but the chains were made with a dc, so I doubt the links would hold their shape as well as yours have.

    Lovely work.

Comments are closed.