Hearty Beef Stew – Updated

Ever get those food cravings where something sounds really good, and while you won’t go nuts if you don’t have it (unlike pms cravings) you still end up buying and/or making the food?

Yesterday I was thinking that beef stew sounded pretty good, but I’m fighting a cold so I was not in the mood to cook last night. Today though I’m feeling a bit better and so I stopped on the way home to pick up meat and veggies to make beef stew.

There it is, cooking away in the pot. Doesn’t that make your mouth water?

Ingredients in Shell’s Hearty Beef Stew:

1 1/2 lbs stew beef

4 redskin potatoes, diced

5 stalks of celery, diced

1/2 bag of baby carrots

1 1/2 cups barley

1 green pepper, sliced

1/2 cup cut green beans

1/4 cup cut sugar snap peas (would have been more but the bag wasn’t as fresh as I thought)

Swanson’s Beef Broth – low sodium

It has about an hour left to cook, but I’ll try to get a picture of the stew in the bowl once it’s done!

11/6/11 – Edit to add photo and lessons learned:

Lessons learned:

  • This was my first time using barley as an ingredient. 1 1/2 cups of barley is too much once it’s all cooked (unless you have room to add more broth in the pot). Didn’t realize it expanded THAT much! But… this was very delicious and my husband’s response was “This is really good.”
  • I would probably use red bell pepper next time, to add more color to the meal.
  • Last lesson… it’s still really good the next day!
One thought on “Hearty Beef Stew – Updated

Comments are closed.