Dinner Experiment

Tonight I was faced with a dilemma. What to do with 1 pound of hamburger and no ideas for dinner. I could have made the old standbys, either spaghetti or hubby’s favorite “rice meat stuff” but I wanted something…different.

So I tossed the hamburger into the deep skillet and started it slowly browning while I went through the fridge and cupboards. There in the veggie drawer was one lone onion and a red bell pepper that was getting close to seeing better days. So I diced up 1/4 of the onion and tossed that in the pan. Next I added the red bell pepper, cut up into inch long strips. A little seasoning: salt, pepper, garlic powder. Then while the meat continued browning, I went in search of the next ingredients to be thrown into what was at that point, a mystery dinner.

After careful consideration, I pulled out beef broth, barley, a can of diced tomatoes (with green chilies), a can of corn, and a can of green beans.

Once the meat was browned, I added the barley and tomatoes, brought to a boil then reduced heat and simmered, covered, for 1 hr 15 minutes. Added in the corn and green beans, another 5-10 minutes, and dinner was served!

There we have it, a successful dinner experiment! I guess it would be a hamburger barley soup? Whatever it would be called, it’s good!

 

Hamburger Barley Soup

1 pound hamburger, browned

1/4 onion, diced

1/2 red bell pepper, cut into 1 inch strips

2 boxes beef broth (32 oz each)

3/4 cup barley

1 can diced tomatoes with green chilies

1 can corn – drained

1 can green beans – drained

Seasonings: Salt, pepper, garlic powder – to taste

 

  1. Brown hamburger in a deep skillet along with diced onions and bell pepper, adding seasonings to meat while cooking. Drain grease.
  2. Add both boxes of beef broth, can of tomatoes (with juice) and barley to skillet.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer covered for 1 hr – 1 1/4 hrs. Stir occasionally.
  3. When barley is softened, add 1 can of corn (drained) and 1 can of green beans (drained) to skillet. Cover and simmer 5-10 minutes longer.
  4. Serve!

 

Lessons: Needs a little more seasoning. Will need to tinker with different seasonings the next time I make this.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Dinner Experiment

Comments are closed.