Colorful Solid Granny Squares

I’ve been slowly working on the Peppermint Ribbons blanket but the lack of color (it’s only red and white) was making the progress even slower.

20111223-210150.jpg

I do love the look and pattern of Peppermint Ribbons, but I needed to break up the monotony of the project so I gathered up a bunch of my Bernat Satin yarns in a tote and sat down on the couch thinking.

After trying and then rejecting an idea using the Lazy Circles from Crochet Embellishments by Jean Leinhauser (there’s nothing wrong with the pattern, I just decided to try something else), I slept on the idea to see if anything in my dreams would spark anything.

20111223-210608.jpg

Finally. My brain latched onto something.

20111223-210648.jpg

Small solid granny squares in different colors then a round of a matching color. Whipstitched together. Then another round in yet another color.

Can you picture lots of granny blocks like this, all different colors, made into a large blanket? I can!

What’s been in your dreams lately that you’ve turned into a crochet idea?

One thought on “Colorful Solid Granny Squares

Comments are closed.