Goals for 2012

Since I did a recap of 2011, it’s only fair (I think) to do a Goals for 2012 post as well.

For 2011, I crocheted 6 blankets that were for donation to a cancer center. Time got away from me though (my own fault) and I did not get them to the cancer center before 2011 ended, so they will be the first donation made in 2012.

 

Crochet Goals:

  • This year’s goal is to aim for 10 donation blankets. Again, my work schedule will be the deciding factor as to if I get that many made, plus whether or not I have baby showers/wedding showers to make any for. And if I get any more custom orders for blankets, scarves, or whatever else crocheted.
  • Another goal is to use up more of my yarn stash than I buy. Hard to do though, isn’t it? All those skeins of yarn in the stores, calling our names, saying please save me. And of course, sometimes you need a specific color to match what you have at home, and while you’re there looking you find those three orphan skeins looking for a home. It’s not right to leave them behind, is it?
  • I also want to learn a few more patterns and stitches this year, even if I don’t do much with them other than practice swatches. You never know when that experience will come in handy down the road.
  • While we’re on that subject, I think I want to set a goal of trying to create my own patterns as well. Why not, right? The worst that happens is that it doesn’t work out and I hide the attempts away in the cupboard!

 

Non-crochet related goals include:

  • Painting the kitchen, putting up a tin tile backsplash (saw it in a decorating book), changing out cabinet hardware. Basically trying to freshen up our kitchen that was decorated years ago by an 80 year old lady.
  • Practicing more with canvas painting and wood painting. I think the wood items are more forgiving and turn out better, but the canvas is fun!
  • Getting back into writing more – I have a story running around in my head and I need to write it down before it disappears to show up in someone else’s brain.
  • Making my fabric butterflies and maybe dragonflies to hang on my Wife Cave walls.
  • Experimenting more with cooking.

 

What are some of YOUR goals?

3 thoughts on “Goals for 2012

  1. Destashing is a big goal. I think I have narrowed down my crochet charity goals to a few that work well for me and I am going to try to focus on those and not get distracted by the MANY worthy goals that are out there.

    • There are a lot of worthy goals out there. The cancer centers are main on my list because its something close to me. My grandma has been fighting cancer for around 3 years now. While lap blankets might not seem like much to someone else that’s not dealt with it, they mean a lot to the patients that receive them. I think that’s why I put a lot of thought into color and pattern for the blankets I make.

      Another one near and dear to me is a local no-kill animal rescue, Paradise Animal Rescue. They rescue a lot of cats (and dogs) and take care of them until the day they finally find a new furever home. So while I can’t donate time due to my work hours and the shelter’s hours, I donate money when I can and food, litter, etc. We adopted our Pixie from them, and due to the care and attention they gave her, she is one of the sweetest, sociable kitties I’ve ever had.

Comments are closed.