Stuffed Manicotti

20120109-193659.jpg

Monday night I decided to try something kind of new for dinner. I’ve made stuffed peppers before but I’ve never made manicotti.

Doesn’t it look yummy? I browned ground beef with some diced onion and a clove of garlic diced. In a small pan I made up some white rice. Once the rice was ready, I added the rice and a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies to the pan. Mixed it together with shredded Italian blend cheese.

In another pan, I cooked up 7 manicotti noodles according to the directions (7 min al dente). Let them cool a little then stuffed them with meat and rice mixture.

While the pasta and stuffing were cooking, I had the oven preheating to 400 degrees. In a 9×13 pan I spread out half a jar of marinara sauce with a little water added. Evenly placed the stuffed manicotti in the pan, covered the manicotti with more sauce then sprinkled shredded cheese. Covered the pan with tin foil.

Into the 400 degree oven for 30 minutes and presto, dinner is ready!

20120109-195110.jpg

3 thoughts on “Stuffed Manicotti

    • I just used a spoon to stuff them carefully. Next time I’ll plan ahead a little more and figure out a better way to stuff them.

Comments are closed.