Stumbling Block

My crochet mojo seems to have hit a stumbling block. Or maybe a large brick wall? All these WIPs waiting around to be finished, and nothing is getting done.

So…question time!

  • What do you do when your crochet mojo skids to a stop?
  • Or are you one of the lucky ones that veers around the brick wall before hitting it?
  • What’s the worst wall you’ve hit in your crocheting life?
  • What do you prefer, jewel tones, nature tones, bright tones?
  • If money was no object, what is your ‘dream’ yarn you’d love to buy and work with?
  • What is your favorite crochet project?
  • Do you have a special spot that you do most of your crocheting?
  • Do you have any pets that “help” you crochet?
  • What other crafts sometimes take your attention away from crocheting?
  • Are there any crafts you’d love to learn?
  • When not crocheting, do you still think about crocheting?
  • Are there any patterns you really want to try?
  • Would you consider yourself a beginner, intermediate, or an expert/experienced crocheter?
  • Bonus question: what’s your stash like and your stash storage?

That’s it for now! Hope to hear from you with answers to some and/or all of the questions! I love reading your comments.

6 thoughts on “Stumbling Block

  1. Q 1. I think time and too much to do has the most to do with the mojo taking a back seat.
    Q 2. Nope I’ve hit the wall many many times.
    Q 3. Major life upheaval quite a few years ago. Lost interest in most things but now its back.
    Q 4. Bright, bright, bright and jewel tones mainly.
    Q 5. My dream yarn would be all of it….
    Q 6. My favorite is whatever I’m working on at the moment.
    Q 7. I’m usually crocheting in my giant chair.
    Q 8. Yep, 3 of them that take turns or sometimes all of them together. Fred (a cat) is my most constant companion.
    Q 9. Well, since I’m primarily a sewer, I’d have to say that crocheting usually takes time from that, not the other way around.
    Q 10. I would like to learn to knit better, but I have a real love-hate relationship with the sticks-n-strings.
    Q 11. Yep I do.
    Q 12. I saw a sweater pattern called the Swain sweater that I’d like to try.It’s a nice cardigan. It’s tunisian crochet and I have to get the right sized hook and figure out the pattern. Oh, and buy the yarn…mmm yarn shopping….
    Q 13. I would consider myself and advanced, intermmediate, experienced, and fearless crocheter. If it doesn’t work out it’s usually easy to frog so no harm no foul!
    You forgot to ask about our stash(es). I like to know how people organize and store yarn-in-waiting.

  2. What do you do when your crochet mojo skids to a stop?
    Go on sites like ravelry & pinterest and look at other beautiful things people have made and get some inspiration.
    Or are you one of the lucky ones that veers around the brick wall before hitting it?
    Yes/No I suffer from “brain fog” so when it arrives I can’t crochet so at times like that I enjoy things other people make.
    What’s the worst wall you’ve hit in your crocheting life?
    I have CFS so when my “brain fog” is at it’s worst I can’t concentrate enough to crochet. It’s the worst time because i know making something and seeing it finished always makes me feel better.
    What do you prefer, jewel tones, nature tones, bright tones?
    i go more for nature tones. I would love to use bright tones but it just isn’t me.
    If money was no object, what is your ‘dream’ yarn you’d love to buy and work with?
    Don’t know I haven’t been near expensive yarn because I know I would want some so stay clear to keep myself in check
    What is your favorite crochet project?
    HATS I love hats!
    Do you have a special spot that you do most of your crocheting?
    In my living room in my rocking chair.
    Do you have any pets that “help” you crochet?
    I have a dog that loves to sit on my yarn
    What other crafts sometimes take your attention away from crocheting?
    needle felting, fimo, I just love learning new crafts.
    Are there any crafts you’d love to learn?
    I’d love to learn to sew!
    When not crocheting, do you still think about crocheting?
    Yes
    Are there any patterns you really want to try?
    I have 4 huge lever arch files full of patterns, plus hundreds if not thousands on my computer.
    Would you consider yourself a beginner, intermediate, or an expert/experienced crocheter?
    intermediate
    Bonus question: what’s your stash like and your stash storage?
    I daren’t think about how much yarn I have hidden in my stash. It’s all sorted at the top of my wardrobes in colour order. I have it sorted so you can’t tell how much there really is. I think I would need a life time to get through it, but who can resist yarn!

  3. I can’t say that I’ve ever hit the wall as far as crochet goes, although there have been times when it’s less enjoyable nothing has ever stopped me from crocheting.
    I use whatever colours seem appropriate for the job at hand but prefer bright colours.
    Money has always been an object so I can’t really say that I’ve been able to try enough yarns to be able to chose a favourite.
    Toys.
    My lounge chair, waiting rooms, school. I’m not fussy, I’ll crochet anywhere.
    No pets here.
    Knitting and occassionallly latch-hook.
    None that I can think of.
    Occassionally.
    I have lots of different jobs on my to-do list but I particularly want to try different Tunisian and Crochenit stitches.
    I think I’m advanced enough to be described as experienced.
    I have 14 stackable wire baskets, several plastic tubs and a couple of garbage bags all in the wardrobe in the spare room.

  4. Hi, I have been reading all of your blog posts and am not finished yet! I love it. Also, you have provided links to others that I am getting “hooked” on. I am just getting back into crochet so, I am excited to read what others are doing! I will attempt to answer the questions now.

    1. usually everything else slows down too, so I just wait it out.
    2. no, I slam it pretty hard.
    3. hard to say, but probably public work. I am pretty tired when I get home
    4. I prefer to work with jewel tones, but I prefer to “live” with more subtle colors. Jewel tones are easier to see to stitch.
    5. I dream of bamboo, cashmere and oh! lets not forget alpaca!!!! The budget doesn’t allow right now. Maybe I should go for quality over quantity. (shhhh….. I think my stash heard that….:)
    6. my favorite things are afghans and baby things. I have 3 baby granddaughters. Afghans are for when I don’t want to think alot about the pattern. When I have the energy, I do more intricate things. I really don’t like to make stuff unless it is useful. No doilies, please!
    7. I usually crochet on the couch near the lamp. Getting old and blind is not for sissies!!
    8. No, I am out of the pet business. I’ve had 3 poodles that are in doggie heaven (well I do wonder about the last one….) and don’t want to go thru that again. Besides, I have real live baby girls!
    9. Well, I am a calligrapher, but haven’t done much of that lately, but the is the only other craft that would make me hang up my hook. It is really pretty much 50/50/
    10. I would love to learn more about colored pencil drawing.
    11. I dwell on whatever I am doing at the present time. Plotting out a summer suit for the babies, or afghans for them for Christmas, etc.
    12. No particular pattern, but I do want to learn tunisian, entralac, reverse SC, and making my own simple patterns.
    13. I guess I would call myself intermediate, but that depends on the pattern and stitches that I haven’t tried yet!
    Bonus: About stashes: I have several plastic tubs down in the basement that need serious attention. I am trying to figure out a tidy storage system upstairs, but our house is tiny so I am in a quandry. And I also need a place to spread out my papers and inks for my lettering. Space, space, I need space!!!!!!!!

  5. What do you do when your crochet mojo skids to a stop? Pick up whatever is closest and begin working on it.

    Or are you one of the lucky ones that veers around the brick wall before hitting it? Usually am able to dodge it, but find that even making one small flower can help get me pointed in the right direction.

    What’s the worst wall you’ve hit in your crocheting life? When my mother-in-law with advanced Alzheimer’s was with us for four months. I really needed to crochet, and I really didn’t have the time.

    What do you prefer, jewel tones, nature tones, bright tones? I prefer bright tones but will crochet with anything.

    If money was no object, what is your ‘dream’ yarn you’d love to buy and work with? Probably a cotton/acrylic or cotton/tencel blend in all 100 of my favorite colors. Outside of silk, animal fibers make me itch.

    What is your favorite crochet project? anything with piecing

    Do you have a special spot that you do most of your crocheting? Everywhere

    Do you have any pets that “help” you crochet? My cat

    What other crafts sometimes take your attention away from crocheting? No room for other crafts

    Are there any crafts you’d love to learn? Not so much

    When not crocheting, do you still think about crocheting? There are people who don’t think about crochet?

    Are there any patterns you really want to try? The only thing limiting me is time.

    Would you consider yourself a beginner, intermediate, or an expert/experienced crocheter? I am experienced, but I prefer straightforward stitching to complicated patterns.

    Bonus question: what’s your stash like and your stash storage? Lots of stuff. I did a major destash a couple of years ago. I have about every color of Red Heart Super Saver, as well as a good selection of Cascade 220, Classic Elite waterspun, and Lamb’s Pride Bulky weight. I use cute crocheted stash bags for the acrylic and ugly plastic tubs for the wool. I also keep an eye out for vintage yarns.

  6. Being succinct by nature…
    I’m very new to crochet but when any of my arty/crafty projects hits a lull (lack of ideas or enthusiasm, I switch genres. If my knitting ceases to inspire, I go weave. If my dyeing projects start looking dull or muddy, I go paint. If my weaving gets too warped I go melt glass. Being a little multipotentialite (some mistakenly call it ADD) has it’s benefits! Just switch gears for a small project and your crochet mojo will come zooming back! Promise.

Comments are closed.