Inspiration Strikes!

So if you read my last post, you know that my crochet mojo got lost, somewhere. Hit a wall or stumbled. Something. It was just gone.

A series of questions came out of that, with some great readers answering them! And from that…my mojo came whimpering back to me.

My mojo had a skein of yarn tangled around it, dragging behind it, tears flowing, an I hook barely grasped in the mojo’s weak hands. It took a little bit of time, but with patience, the yarn was untangled, the hook carefully set aside, and I comforted my mojo and let it know that I wasn’t really mad, I was worried! I mean, mojos are very fragile creatures, what if it had gotten hurt? Lost permanently? What would I do then? Would I ever craft again if my mojo was gone??

Comforted, tears dried, my mojo whispered in my ear. “Beautiful blues, soft.” And I realized it was talking about the Red Heart With Love yarn I picked up a couple weeks ago, in the color Deep Blues. (And wouldn’t you know it, that was the yarn that my mojo dragged in).

Hook in hand, I started working with those gorgeous blues. First attempt was a simple 2dc, ch 1, 1 dc, ch1, 2 dc… etc across. But I didn’t like how the second row was turning out and after several different ideas, I frogged what I had. Second attempt I went with an old standby easy pattern, which is real similar which is 2 dc, ch2, 2 dc, ch2 across. Next row is basically the same, the 2dc going into the ch2 of the row below.

I got this much done (it’s about 3 ft long but only an inch wide)….

20120529-065148.jpg

20120529-065203.jpg

Then my mojo whispered in my ear again “That’s nice, but what if you did this….and then this…”.

So of course… I did!

 

Here is the Brick Wall Granny!

20120529-065405.jpg

20120529-065424.jpg

It’s “basically” the same pattern as the blues above. Only it’s working two colors across the same row each time and you do 2dc into the other color in the row below. The key is, when doing the 2dc into the other color, you need to also pick up the ch2 of the current color from the row before. (Confusing? It sounds confusing to me when I try to write it down).

I don’t think I would want to do this as a blanket. But a scarf definitely.

And just because…

I saw this yesterday and thought it was gorgeous and wanted to share with you. This is a brilliant white peony bloom from the bush at the side of the house:

20120529-065658.jpg

6 thoughts on “Inspiration Strikes!

  1. Poor little mojo! But it has such a good mother! 🙂 I can almost smell the peony…………

  2. This single post is probably the answer to a question I’ve been asking myself for a week now. thank you so much! (found you from Crochetville)

    And yes, a tutorial on the brick wall granny would be absolutely wonderful!

  3. Thanks for popping by my blog, I’m so glad you liked my little FW quilt! Sorry to hear you’ve been having mojo problems, I’ve been struggling on the crochet front myself a little lately but I think I’m pulling out of it too now. Love the brick pattern, looks very cute – hope it chases the mojo monster away!

    S x

Comments are closed.