Some Days Are Not for Sewing

Last night was not my night when it came to fabric and sewing. I’m not sure what happened, but everything kept going wrong.

All day yesterday I had this vision in my head of how I wanted a particular square to look. All day I worked out the details in my mind while doing my work at my job.

All. Day.

Then I finally got home and down to the Wife Cave. Got out the fabrics. The thread. The piece of muslin to sew onto.

It All Went Wrong! Every piece, every step, it was just wrong. So I ripped out all the seams and stared at the fabric. (I forgot to take a picture before I ripped it apart).

Now what? I asked myself. I started again. Messed up the second piece! Ripped out another seam. Started again.

This is how far I got, after more than an hour, and I finally gave up on it until a better night comes along:

20130228-210650.jpg

So I turned my mind toward my pile of scraps and decided to challenge myself. (good idea to challenge yourself after continually messing up…huh?).
The challenge: How many bright colored scraps could I fit, in a somewhat organized way, onto a square?

Turns out, I managed to get 21 pieces of scrap fabrics into this square:

20130228-210913.jpg

Oh, there was a second part to the challenge…

20130228-210943.jpg
It’s all in a 4 1/2 inch square!

While I was cutting fabric, I heard a LOUD pure start up behind me. I turned around to see Penny…

20130228-211047.jpg

Giving me some attitude!! The silly kitty.

So how often do you have “maybe I should step away from the sewing machine” days?

2 thoughts on “Some Days Are Not for Sewing

  1. I didn’t have step away from the sewing machine day but I’m having a put down the embroidery needle night. I CANNOT figure out twilling. This is a completely new stitch to me and the directions are confusing or I’m just not comprehending tonight. Tomorrow is another day. I did manage to make a superman cape for my little brother (he’s almost 51 years old – hmmm older than me now!). Apparently it’s for some kind of running joke among his buddies. The bright block is fantastic! It was nagging at you that’s why the other one wasn’t working – it wasn’t it’s time yet.

Comments are closed.