Viviann’s Garden

Finally! I can share Viviann’s Garden, the baby blanket I’ve been working on secretly for a couple months. I had to wait until we knew if JDP was having a girl or boy, but once she found out she was having a girl, I knew exactly what I wanted to make.

I posted a teaser photo before:

20130325-201039.jpg

Using a pattern by Karen from Colour in a Simple Life, I started making squares:

20130325-201155.jpg

100 squares in total:

20130325-201254.jpg

I decided to use slip stitches to join all the squares together:

20130325-201447.jpg

While I was working on joining the squares, my mind jumped ahead thinking about how I would border the blanket. I wanted a border that would enhance the blanket, not distract from it. Then Sandra over at Cherry Heart posted her tutorial for the granny patches border. And my mind said “perfect!”.

I made the decision not to do various colors for the border, staying with the same green as the squares, for the 3dc shell rounds but used pink and yellow for the two rounds that make the peekaboo colors show.

I cannot believe how perfect the border ended up being for this blanket. What do you think?

20130325-202025.jpg

20130325-202049.jpg

20130325-202115.jpg

Thank you to both Karen at Colour in a Simple Life and Sandra at Cherry Heart for these great patterns. Your patterns have helped me make a baby blanket for my best friend’s baby girl, Viviann, who should be making her debut to the world in about four weeks.

6 thoughts on “Viviann’s Garden

  1. This is absolutely GORGEOUS. I love the bright colors, and you’re totally right; that border is just perfect for the blanket. May I ask where you got the pattern for the squares themselves? I’ve never seen a granny square quite like that, and I’m quite taken with it.

    • The pattern for the squares can be found on the blog Colour in a Simple Life. There should be a link in the post to her post with the pattern. I’ll check tonight when I get home from work to make sure the link works.

  2. The bright colors are fabulous – and it is good to surround babies with them, they stimulate their little brains and (theoretically) they develop into smarter kids. So a smart and warm baby, wins all around :o)

  3. I love it!! Great job – I’m sure your friend will love it too. What a thoughtful gift. I grew up sleeping under a very colorful granny square afghan from my dear Grandma and I think I owe my love of color to that fabulous blanket! Yay color!

  4. This blanket is so beautiful. The border does seem to be perfect. Thanks for sharing your stitching.

Comments are closed.