The Letter A – Beginnings of a Present

Another baby is on the way in my family. (it’s not me). So I decided to make another baby gift while learning/practicing more embroidery.

Using an alphabet pattern from my newest book:

20130915-132934.jpg

After a couple hours worth of time looking through, tracing, trying a different one, etc, I finally settled on the ones from pages 96-98 which came from a 1925 publication.

20130915-133259.jpg

One of the small changes I did was to use different flowers for each letter (taken from other alphabets in the book) rather than have each letter use the same flower.

Colors used:
DMC 826 (blue) for the letter.
DMC 954 (green) for the flower stems.
DMC 444 (yellow) for the flower.

A few more letters to finish, then I can do the rest of the gift.

