Embroidered “Self” Portrait – Update

Even with being sick,  I have managed to make a good bit of progress on my “self” portrait inspired by Terri Mitchell’s design.  I’m getting more and more excited about finishing.  Not only because I want to see how it all looks when it’s done,  but also because of the next project that is already whispering in my ear.

First up though,  the current progress pictures.

image

A few close up pictures:

image

image

image

This next one shows my favorite section so far.  The diamond shapes,  the swirl,  the waves:

image

I have approximately 46 empty spaces to fill still for the hair,  then fill in the lips and eye.  Then I need to decide if I will do something with her shirt or not.  If I do, I want something simple so it won’t take away from her wild and crazy hair.

The next project is already drawn out in my sketch book. I suppose I can share the drawing with you.  🙂

image

Yep.  A tangled hand!  I traced around my hand and then let loose with curves and lines. I plan to make the fingernails all the same color and then not use that particular color throughout the rest of the hand. 

3 thoughts on “Embroidered “Self” Portrait – Update

    • If all goes as planned, the face should be done by Friday. Then I can start the hand! I have a couple tentative ideas for the two fingers that look like they have rings on them. Kind of make the rings go over the outline so it looks like the hand is actually wearing rings, not just colored sections.

Comments are closed.