Finished! Self-portrait

3 weeks of stitching,  start to finish.  With a couple of days that I didn’t work on it due to a bad summer cold.  But finally,  the embroidered face self-portrait is finished! 

From first looking at Terri Mitchell’s work,  to drawing my own version (several times), to hours and hours of stitching.

The drawing:

image

The finished face:

image

I am extremely happy with how this turned out!  I used primarily satin stitch and stem stitch to fill in all of the spaces,  with a few sections of french knots,  one section with reverse chain,  and one section that I couldn’t resist beading. 

Close up photos:

image

image

image

image

image

image

I’ll admit,  I had a few times where I wanted to give up. I really am not a fan of satin stitch.  But I am so glad I stuck with it! 

What do you think of the finished face? 

4 thoughts on “Finished! Self-portrait

  1. It is absolutely GORGEOUS. Seriously. Wow! I love, love, love it. I am hoping you shared a link to this post on FB so I can share it with my other friends there.

  2. It’s beautiful. Well, you are a satin stitch expert now for sure. The hair decorations gave added interest to the piece. Will you frame and hang it?

Comments are closed.