Batiks, Stone Chips, Jelly Rolls, and Maybe More

It’s been a productive weekend here.  I finished all 36 HST blocks for a quilt top made with two batik charm packs and two stone chips charm packs.  There is 1 block made with different fabrics as I was one block short, but I think i made it fit in fairly well. 

Batik blocks :

image

Stone chip blocks:

image

And all the lovely blocks together:

image

I’m going to use black as sashing between all the blocks.  I think it helps the colors pop.  And i love bright colors with black.

I also played around with a few strips from my jelly rolls to make a couple…squares. 
This first one is going to become an art quilt wall hanging.  I’ll give you a clue,  Oz.

image

This second one was more playing around. Same strips of material as above,  but done differently.
I don’t know what I’ll do with this one:

image

It started out like this below, until I attacked it with my rotary cutter :

image

I also made a soup bowl cozy for my husband:

image

My first one!  One corner is a little…wonky.  Tip: don’t use the corner for where you leave your opening to turn it right side out.  Oops.

It’s already been put to use! 

image

image

Oh yeah,  I made banana bread a couple days ago,  and then homemade chicken noodle soup today. 

Let’s see,  what else. 
I finally got the arms and legs attached to the doll I’ve been working on since this summer. Lol.  And I’m working on a quilt top design using jelly rolls.  I’ve looked online and don’t see any made with this pattern.  Doesn’t mean it hasn’t been done,  I just haven’t found it yet.  I’ll show the results once I get that quilt top made. 

Oh! And I’m embroidering a skeleton.

Don’t worry,  it’s fabric!

Hope you had a great weekend,  whether productive or relaxing.  🙂

8 thoughts on “Batiks, Stone Chips, Jelly Rolls, and Maybe More

    • Just picked up the black Kona fabric today! Can’t wait to see how it looks with the blocks. It’ll break up the “madness” a little and give the eyes a place to rest while also making the colors POP. 🙂

    • Sadly, I was disappointed with the chicken soup. The peas that I added just didn’t taste good to me. And it changed the flavor of the whole soup which just made me sad :(.

Comments are closed.