Recent Finishes

In the past week,  I’ve finished two quilt tops and a wall hanging,  plus some coasters.

Isn’t it funny how some weeks it feels like we accomplish nothing and others we get a lot done?

I finished the quilt top using my batik and stone chip blocks (finally found the name of the block,  it is called Broken Dishes).

2014-12-02 18.27.37

Pixie fell in love with this quilt.  So i decided to call it Pixie’s Boxes.
See how much she loves it:

image

image

image

How could I name it anything else?

I also made a Christmas wall hanging.  There is a pattern on the McCall’s website for an almost identical one, Tiny Tannenbaum.  I made mine after  looking at a picture of one someone else did. My rows are put together differently but the end result is similar.  I also added a “hardwood” floor.

image

Of course,  I couldn’t stop there.  I had to quilt and bind it.  I used one of my favorite winter fabrics for the binding (not sure why it is one of my favs, but it is). The quilting was an outline around the tree and then I played a little with doing some designs.

image

image

image

image

What tree would be complete without bling?

image

image

I found the Christmas lights at Joanns. I originally had 50 of them on the tree,  but Pixie decided she didn’t like the placement of 3 of them and she ripped them off. (My fault for leaving it upside down on the coffee table.  It tempted her and she had to knock it to the floor and flip it over to see what was on the other side).

The quilt top I finished last night can’t be shared yet.  It is a Christmas gift for someone.  I’m pretty happy with how it turned out though.

The coasters are called criss-cross coasters. Very easy to make and very cute!

image

I have an idea tumbling around in my brain for a different coaster design.  Hopefully tonight I can see if what I picture in my head can be recreated in fabric. I will let you know how it goes!

Do you have any recent Finishes?  If you are making gifts,  are you going to be done in time?

7 thoughts on “Recent Finishes

  1. Everything turned out fabulous! Your quilt top is gorgeous! I adore the Christmas tree, and the coasters are cute! I have a few gifts I hope to finish, but I purchased gifts just in case. Next year, I may need to try the 1 Christmas gift a month challenge. Lovely finishes!

Comments are closed.