Amaryllis – Needle Painting in Progress

My latest needle painting project is an amaryllis flower.  One of my friends had shared a photo of one she received from a friend and when I saw it,  I really wanted to turn it into a needle painting.

First step was seeing if I could manage to draw it out and have it look like an amaryllis.

image

I was happy with the drawing,  so after I traced it onto some fabric,  I grabbed my colored pencils and started coloring it in.  Need to have my visual aids!

image

After that,  it was time to put the needle to the fabric and start my outline.

image

After approximately 12 hours of stitching,  including my drawing time for the flower,  this is my progress:

image

The stem needs some work still,  and there are some finer details that won’t be added until the majority of the stitching is done.

I’m pretty happy with it so far.

Edit to add: This is the picture that I made my drawing from (for some reason, it appears it didn’t upload when I updated the post last night):
:amaryllis photo

You can see in the bottom left corner of the photo is a blog address. That leads to my friend’s blog, Living My Dream. (Link is on the right side of my blog in the blog roll).

4 thoughts on “Amaryllis – Needle Painting in Progress

Comments are closed.