Walk About Quilt #2

Our nephew on my husband’s side just turned 3 so I made him a quilt.  I debated on what to make because 1) he’s a 3-year-old boy but 2) they live in a very small apartment and I wanted to make him something that would kinda flow with everything.   And as we all know, kids do grow super fast and the cartoon or superhero they like today they may hate tomorrow.  Plus, he really, really loves monkeys and I could not find a good monkey print that fit what I pictured.  So instead I made him a Walk About Quilt in blues and greens.  

Sandy at Grapevine Quilting and I talked about the quilting and decided not to do monkeys all over it for the quilting because it wasn’t the right pattern for that.  But she did put a special little monkey on the one corner for him.  

I also made him a fleece pillowcase with some monkey prints. 

They sent me a picture of him holding it up but I can’t share that.   But wow, judging by the picture he’s gotten tall!  He’s holding up the pillowcase and is about the same length as his height.  (Pillowcase is almost 1 yard/3 feet). 

