Success at Fall Sewing Retreat

We had a great time at the Sew Crazy Sewing Retreat last weekend. Our cabin had a great view. 

Mom and I found a trail that went around the lake. Halfway around we could see the cabins across the lake.  

The food was good, especially Friday night’s roast turkey and mashed potatoes.  

But the highlight of the whole weekend is just the fact that we have hours upon hours to sew and sew and sew.  And also toss out jokes and insults at our friends.  

Earlier in the week I had been looking at a jelly roll that I had,  then grabbed my graph paper and started marking up lines.  I came up with a fairly easy 12×12 inch block.  

After cutting everything out then setting out the pieces for one block,  I made a small change to the upper left two pieces.  

This way all of the B could be sewn to C. Then I just needed to be careful with what side A was attached to. 
I was able to make 16 blocks with one jelly roll,  with some fabric left over. I would love to have four more blocks but I don’t think I have enough left for that. 

Right now it would measure 48×48 if I sewed all the blocks together. I want tomake it bigger though. So it’s time to grab the graph paper again!  

I also made some bowl cozies for us at home and for potential christmas gifts. 

The top middle one is mine!  

And I made a red and white 6.5×6.5 crazy square block for our Fiber Art Junkies group monthly challenge.  I need to finish my block before our meeting on the 21st. I can post a picture after that.  We will find out our next two colors for the next block that night.  

One thought on “Success at Fall Sewing Retreat

Comments are closed.