Cat-Proof (?) Christmas Tree

A few weeks or so ago my hubby and I were on our way home from date night, talking about random things.  One such topic was our new kitten, Molly, and the Christmas tree.  We already knew that Penny would be in the tree practically before we would have it fully up.  Not sure about Ginger but considering she was a feral cat her first few months of life, she’d probably be in the tree as well. 

So my hubby says, “what about a quilted tree to hang on the wall? About 6 1/2 feet tall or so.” My mind immediately pictured graph paper and I started sketching out some details while we continued home. 

The next day while I was waiting on a client I grabbed the real graph paper and sketched out the quilt top. 

Then I made a few changes to the bottom section where the tree skirt would be made separate and added after quilting, that way I could make it more 3D. (Thanks mom for the suggestion!). Then I started figuring out block sizes. 

Then the fun part, picking out the fabric! Followed by the not as fun part of cutting all the squares.

The white has a design on it. Little Christmas trees!

Tonight I finished making the blocks (I assembled it in 4 patch blocks as much as possible). 

And by the time dinner was ready (roast in the oven so…I determined dinner was ready when I finished sewing…) I finished putting the top together. It still needs a good press and I need to figure out the borders.  

But here it is! 

190 5-inch squares, 20 HST. The tree skirt and ornaments are going to be 3D elements added after the quilting is done. 

This was my “patten” once I was done: 

Current finished size is 75×70. I’ll probably stay small on the borders. we only have 7 1/2 feet from floor to ceiling and we want this to hang on the wall. 

3 thoughts on “Cat-Proof (?) Christmas Tree

  1. What a great idea! Not just for those who have kitty problems, but for anyone who is getting to the point they don’t want to do the tree thing any more.

    • I know what you mean. We don’t have human kids, just furry kids. And most Christmas stuff is at other people’s houses. It’s a lot of work to put up a tree just for the two of us, especially when the cats are just going to destroy it anyway

Drop Off a Skein (or comment)

